Yesim Ustaogluz.jpg

Yeşim Ustaoğlu

After making several award - winning shorts in Turkey, Yeşim Ustaoğlu made her feature film debut with 1994's The Trace (iZ). The film was presented at numerous international festivals, including Moscow and Gotenburg and won the Best Film Award at Istanbul International Film Festival. Yeşim Ustaoğlu received international recognition for her 1999 film, Journey to the sun. In competition at the Berlin Film Festival, Journey to the sun received the Blue Angel Award (Best European Film) and the Peace Prize. The moving story of a courageous friendship undaunted by political cruelty, Journey to the sun swept the İstanbul Film Festival by winning Best Film, Best Director, the FIBRESCI Prize and the Audience Award. Her third film, Waiting for the clouds, the story of a woman forced to live for 50 years with the haunting secrets of a hidden identity, premiered in Berlinale Panaroma and was awarded NHK Sundance – International Film-maker's award. 

Film traveled many festival and established a strong reputation for the director. Ustaoğlu's fourth film, Pandora's Box tells the story of an old woman who suffers from Alzheimer disease. The film premiered in Toronto International Film Festival and won Golden Shell for the Best Film and Silver Shell for the Best Actress Award in San Sebastian Film Festival. Having participated many international festivals and winning many awards, the film also theatrically released in many countries. Ustaoglu's last film Araf also having international success, the film tells a story about two young people whose lives are caught in a vacuum! Araf premiered in Orrizonti section in 69th Venice Film Festival, won Best Film Award in Abu Dhabi Film Festival and Split Mediterranean Film Festival, as well as Best Performance in Moscow 2morrow Film Festival, Best Actress Award in Tokyo Film Festival, Special Jury Award for Best Actress Award inPune Film Festival and Amakourou Award in Mooov Festival.


Short films
To catch a moment (Bir Anı Yakalamak)
1987 Magnafantagna
1990 Düet
1992 Otel

Feature films
2016 Clair Obscur (Tereddüt)
2012 Araf
2008 Pandora’s box (Pandoranın Kutusu)
2004 Life on their shoulders (Sırtlarındaki Hayat) – documentairy
2003 Waiting for the clouds(Bulutları Beklerken)
1999 Journey to the sun (Güneşe Yolculuk)
1994 La Trace (İz)