Born 1960, Denmark. Graduate of the National Film School of Denmark, 1987. Academy Award semi-finalist and award winner at the Munich Film School Festival for her graduation film De saliges ø. Bier's feature film debut, the Swedish-Danish coproduction, Freud Leaving Homewas recipient of international plaudits, as was her Danish-Swedish-Portuguese Family Matters ; her next Swedish film Like It Never was Before was recipient of the Critic's Award at Montreal. Following her Danish feature The One and Only, a critics' favorite, and bringing in nearly a million admissions in Denmark alone, her reputation as an established filmmaker excelled. Two box office hits followed: the Dogme film Open Hearts, selected for San Sebastian, Sundance, and Toronto where it received Special Mention; and Brothers, recipient of the Audience Award at Sundance and Best Acting awards at San Sebastian. Oscar nominated After the Wedding and the US-produced Things We Lost in the Fire, starring Halle Berry and Benicio Del Toro, were both hits at the domestic box office. Her latest film was awarded a Golden Globe and is a Best Foreign Language Film nominee at the 83rd Academy Awards. Her next film Bird Box starring Sandra Bullock, John Mallovitch and Sarah Paulson will be released in 2018.


2004 Brothers (Brødre)
2002 Open Hearts (Elsker dig for evigt)
2000 Once in a Lifetime (Livet är en schlager)
1999 The one and Only (Den eneste ene)
1997 Sekten
1995 Like it Never Was Before (Pensionate Oskar)
1994 Family Matters (Det bli'r i familien)
1992 Lettre à Jonas (Brev til Jonas)

2018 Bird Box
2014 A Second Chance (En chance til)
2014 Serena
2012 Love is all you need (Den skaldede frisør)
2010 Revenge (Hævnen)
2007 Things We Lost in the Fire
2006 After the Wedding (Efter brylluppet)